Minutes of Meeting July 19, 2016

A Special Meeting of the Port Commission of Port Freeport was held July 19, 2016 beginning at 8:00 AM at the Administration Building, 1100 Cherry Street, Freeport, Texas.

Commissioners present:

Mr. Ravi Singhania, Chairman

Mr. Bill Terry, Vice Chairman

Mr. Shane Pirtle, Commissioner

Mr. John Hoss, Commissioner

Staff Members Present:

Mr. Jason Cordoba, Legal Counsel

Ms. Phyllis Saathoff, Executive Director/CEO

Mr. Jason Hull, Director of Engineering

Mr. Al Durel, Director of Operations

Ms. Dianna Kile, Director of External/Government Affairs

Ms. Callie Cole, Accounting Clerk

Absent:

Mr. Paul Kresta, Secretary

Mr. Rudy Santos, Asst. Secretary

Mr. Jeff Strader, Chief Financial Officer

Mr. Chris Hogan, Director of Protective Services

Mr. Mike Wilson, Director of Economic Development

Mr. Jason Miura, Director of Business & Economic Development

Ms. Mary Campus, Controller

Ms. Missy Bevers, Executive Assistant

- 1. CONVENE OPEN SESSION in accordance with Texas Government Code Section 551.001, et. seq., to review and consider the following:
- 2. EXECUTIVE SESSION in accordance with Subchapter D of the Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Section 551.001, et. seq., to review and consider the following:
 - A. Under authority of Section 551.071 for discussion regarding:
 - 1. Consultation with attorney regarding terms of Letter of Intent with City of Freeport.
 - B. Pursuant to Section 551.071 of the Texas Government Code, consultation with attorney with respect to pending or contemplated litigation, and matters where duty of public body's counsel to client, pursuant to code of professional responsibility of the State Bar of Texas, clearly conflicts with Chapter 551 of the Texas Government Code:
 - 1. City of Freeport.
- 3. RECONVENE OPEN SESSION to review and discuss the following:

4. Review and consider or ratify the agreed letter of intent with the City of Freeport.

Ms. Saathoff stated that at the last meeting the Board approved the terms of a Letter of Intent with the City and also authorized the CEO to make any necessary modifications to the agreement to ensure execution by the City. The City Council had an item on their agenda to consider an ordinance to close all truck routes into the East End of Freeport. Ms. Saathoff, as well as Commissioners and other staff members attended this meeting and took an opportunity to make a presentation to the Council about the commitment the Port is willing to make to relocate the existing truck route to Terminal and Fifth. Ms. Saathoff also recapped items previously agreed upon with the City of Freeport, one of which was that the Port would split the cost of repairs to Second and Sycamore, and effective immediately, the City would have their contractor do that work and the Port would share the cost. The Port is willing to make improvements to the interim truck route, but in order to start those improvements, we need a signed agreement with the City giving the Port necessary authorization to allow a contractor to do the work on city streets.

A motion was made by Commissioner Hoss to authorize the CEO to sign a Letter of Intent with the City of Freeport and to make any necessary and reasonable modifications to the LOI to ensure execution. Upon signing the LOI, the CEO is authorized to modify the proposed truck route from Pine Street along Fifth, to Terminal Street to Second Street and the associated intersections necessary to prepare the route. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Pirtle with all Commissioners present voting in favor of the motion.

5. Discuss and consider authorization of legal action against City of Freeport.

This item was withdrawn.

6. Discuss and consider authorization of Engagement Agreement with Blank Rome.

A motion was made by Commissioner Terry to accept the Engagement Letter with Blank Rome. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hoss with all Commissioners present voting in favor of the motion.

7. Adjourn.

With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 9:07 AM.

Ravi Singhania, Chairman	Bill Terry, Vice Chairman
Absent	Absent
Paul Kresta, Secretary	Rudy Santos, Asst. Secretary
	_
Shane Pirtle, Commissioner	John Hoss, Commissioner