## Minutes of Pilot Commission Port Freeport January 14, 2016

A Meeting of the Pilot Commission of Port Freeport was held January 14, 2016, beginning at 3:45 PM in the Port Freeport Administration Building, 200 West Second Street, Third Floor, Freeport, Texas.

## Commissioners present:

Mr. Shane Pirtle, Chairman

Mr. Paul Kresta, Vice Chairman

Mr. Bill Terry, Secretary/Treasurer

Mr. John Hoss, Commissioner

Mr. Ravi Singhania, Commissioner

Mr. Rudy Santos, Commissioner

## Staff Members present:

Mr. Jason Cordoba, Legal Counsel

Mr. Jeff Strader, Chief Financial Officer

Mr. Jason Hull, Director of Engineering

Mr. Al Durel, Director of Engineering

Mr. Jason Miura, Director of Business & Economic Development

Mr. Mike Wilson, Director of Business Development

Ms. Dianna Kile, Director of External/Government Affairs

Ms. Mary Campus, Controller

Ms. Missy Bevers, Executive Assistant

## Also present:

Mr. Billy Burns, Brazos Pilots Association

Mr. Daniel Blanton, Brazos Pilots Association

Mr. Bob Arroyave, Brown & Gay Engineer

Ms. Suzanne Crawford, Brown & Gay Engineer

Mr. Bobby Fuller, Texas Port Ministry

Mr. Shaw Ottis, Freeport LNG

1. Approval of minutes from the Pilot Commission Meeting held May 21, 2015.

A motion was made by Commissioner Singhania to approve the minutes as presented. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Terry with all Commissioners present voting in favor of the motion.

2. Election of Chairman, Vice Chairman and Secretary/Treasurer June 2015 – June 2017.

Commissioner Singhania nominated Commissioner Kresta as Chairman, Commissioner Hoss as Vice Chairman and Commissioner Terry as Secretary. Commissioner Pirtle asked for other nominations. Hearing none, Commissioner Hoss made a motion that nominations cease. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Santos. After it was brought to the attention that Commissioner Terry could not hold the position of Secretary/Treasurer consecutive terms, Commissioner Singhania amended his previous nomination and nominating Commissioner Kresta as Chairman, Commissioner Terry as Vice Chairman and Commissioner Hoss as Secretary/Treasurer. Commissioner Pirtle stated that he was opposed to that motion adding that previous conversations indicated Commissioner Kresta would be Chairman, Commissioner Hoss as Vice Chairman and himself as Secretary/Treasurer. He then made a motion to accept his proposal as a nomination. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hoss with all Commissioners voting in favor of the motion.

3. Update regarding resumes submitted to the Brazos Pilots Association.

Commissioner Hoss questioned why the resumes have been submitted stating that in the past he only recalls the resumes submitted for a renewal. He then asked the President of the Pilots Association, Daniel Blanton to explain why we have the resumes. Mr. Blanton stated that as the

state statute stands in the Texas code, all resumes are to be held by the Pilot Commissioners. Applicants have requirements they must meet in order to submit a resume for appointment as Branch Pilot, once they have met the minimum requirements, the resumes are pulled for consideration. The pool of resumes on file are the only pool the Pilots are allowed to review.

With no further business before the Commission, the meeting adjourned at 4:10 p.m.