

# HOCKING COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

## **SPECIAL MEETING**

Wednesday, September 14, 2011 5:00 P.M. Inn at Hocking College

Call to Order
Vice-Chairman Starner

■ Roll Call Trustee Sherburne

 Administer Oath of Office to New and Returning Trustees
Vice-Chairman Starner

Executive Session

Adjournment
Vice-Chairman Starner

## **September 14, 2011**

A special meeting of the Hocking College Board of Trustees was held Wednesday, September 14, 2011, at the Inn at Hocking College, Nelsonville, Ohio.

Administrators attending: Dr. Jacalyn Osborne, Interim President; Dr. Molly Weiland, Provost and Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs; Gina Fetty, Vice President of Financial Services; Dr. Myriah Short, Vice President of Administrative Services; Laura Alloway, Director of Marketing and Public Relations, and John Sanders, Director of Human Resources.

Additional attendees: Members of faculty; staff; Rebecca Albers, Chief, Education Section, Office of the Attorney General; Attorney Gary Batke; and media.

### CALL TO ORDER

Trustee Starner, Vice Chairman, called the meeting to order at 5 P.M.

Vice Chairman Starner welcomed attendees and reviewed the evening's agenda, which would include the administration of the Oath of Office and an Executive Session to discuss collective bargaining issues.

#### OATH OF OFFICE

Vice Chairman Starner administered the Oath of Office to the new Caucus of School Board Presidents appointed trustees:

- 1. Paula Tucker of Hocking County. Trustee Tucker will serve from September 1, 2011 through August 31, 2014, (Addendum 1).
- 2. Dr. Keith Taulbee of Hocking County. Trustee Taulbee will serve from September 1, 2011 through August 31, 2013, (Addendum 2).

Vice Chairman Starner administered the Oath of Office to the new Governor appointee:

3. Keith Budzik of Hocking County. Trustee Budzik will serve from August 27, 2011 through August 26, 2014, (Addendum 3).

Vice Chairman Starner administered the Oath of Office to Trustee Brooks, a reappointment by the Governor:

4. Trustee Brooks of Athens County. Trustee Brooks will serve from August 27, 2011 through August 26, 2014, (Addendum 4).

#### **ROLL CALL**

Nancy Vandeman, Recording Board Secretary, called the roll:

Board members present: Trustee Brooks, Trustee Budzik, Trustee Light, Trustee Newlon, Vice Chairman Starner, Trustee Taulbee, Trustee Troxel, and Trustee Tucker.

Absent: Trustee Sherburne

Members present constitute quorum: Yes.

### **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

Trustee Newlon moved, seconded by Trustee Light, that the Board of Trustees enter into Executive Session to discuss a collective bargaining strategy.

On a roll call vote:

Voting Yes: Trustee Newlon, Trustee Light, Trustee Brooks, Trustee Budzik, Trustee Taulbee, Trustee Troxel, Trustee Tucker, and Vice Chairman Starner.

Voting No: None.

In addition to the Board of Trustees, Attorneys Gary Batke and Rebecca Albers; Dr. Molly Weiland, Dr. Myriah Short; Dr. Jacalyn Osborne; John Sanders; and Gina Fetty were invited to attend. The Board adjourned into Executive Session at 5:10 P.M.

#### REGULAR SESSION

Trustee Brooks moved, seconded by Trustee Troxel, to return to Regular Session.

On a roll call vote:

Voting Yes: Trustee Brooks, Trustee Troxel, Trustee Budzik, Trustee Light, Trustee Newlon, Trustee Taulbee, Trustee Tucker, and Vice Chairman Starner.

Voting No: None.

The Executive Session concluded at 6:45 P.M.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business, Trustee Tucker moved, seconded by Trustee Brooks, that the Special Meeting be adjourned.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:47 P.M.

Trustee Starner, Vice Chairperson

Nancy Vangeman, Recording Secretary