THE PUBLIC ORDER ACT

(Cap. 56)

THE PUBLIC ORDER (STATE CURFEW) ORDER, 2020

IN EXERCISE of the powers conferred by section 8(1) of the Public Order Act, and in view of the serious threat posed to national security and public order by the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic, the Cabinet Secretary for Interior and Co-ordination of National Government makes the following Order—

THE PUBLIC ORDER (STATE CURFEW) ORDER, 2020

- 1. This Order may be cited as the Public Order (State Curfew) Citation. Order, 2020.
- 2. This Order shall apply to the entire territory of the Republic of Application. Kenya.
- 3. This Order shall apply during the hours of darkness between seven o'clock in the evening and five o'clock in the morning with effect from the 27th March, 2020 and shall remain in effect for a period of thirty days thereof.

Curfew period.

4. Under this Order, there shall be no public gatherings, processions or movement either alone or as a group during the period of the curfew except as shall be permitted, in writing, by a police officer in charge of the police in a county or a police officer in charge of a police division.

Restrictions.

5. Notwithstanding the provisions of this Order, the Order shall not apply to the services, personnel or workers specified in the Schedule hereto.

Exemption.

SCHEDULE

- 1. Medical professionals and health workers
- 2. National security, administration and co-ordination of national government officers
- 3. Public health and sanitation officers in the County Governments
- 4. Licensed pharmaceuticals companies, pharmacies and drug stores
- 5. Licensed broadcasters and media houses
- 6. Kenya Revenue Authority.
- 7. Kenya Airports Authority and Licensed Civil Aviation Service Providers.
- 8. Kenya Civil Aviation Authority.
- 9. Kenya Airways PLC.
- 10. Kenya Ports Authority and Licensed Port Operators.
- 11. Power production and distribution Companies.
- 12. Kenya Railways Corporation.
- 13. Kenya Pipeline Company.
- 14. Water service providers.
- 15. Food and farm produce processors, distributors, dealers, wholesalers and transporters.
- 16. Licensed supermarkets, minimarkets and hypermarkets
- 17. Licensed distributors and retailers of petroleum and oil products and lubricants
- 18. Licensed telecommunications operators and service providers
- 19. Licensed banks, financial institutions and payment service providers.
- 20. Fire brigade and emergency response services.
- 21. Licensed security firms.
- 22. Postal and Courier services.

Dated the 25th March, 2020.

FRED MATIANG'I, Cabinet Secretary for Interior and Co-ordination of National Government.

PRINTED AND PUBLISHED BY THE GOVERNMENT PRINTER, NAIROBI