

## **Institute of Transport Studies**

## ARRB-Monash 2013 Prize for Postgraduate Transport Research

Newsletter August 2013

## ARRB-Monash Prize in Postgraduate Transport Research

The 2013 ARRB-Monash Prize in Postgraduate Transport Research was presented at a high profile function at the State Library of Victoria Theatrette in Melbourne in late August. The ARRB-Monash Prize is awarded to the student aims to collaborate with the roads industry to turn knowledge into practice. The ARRB-Monash Transport Prize was developed to promote excellence in postgraduate research in transport and to encourage transport research as a career for young professionals. In this context, transport research relates to the movement of people or freight and can consider technology, infrastructure, travel behaviour, plans or policies as well as associated economic, social or environmental impacts.

The award was presented in conjunction with the Bus Operator Best Performance Awards, VicRoads Prize, William Young Alumnus Award and the annual Ogden Transport Lecture.

A large audience attended the function at the State Library of Victoria, Village Roadshow Theatrette, and included senior officers of Transport Safety Victoria (TSV) and the Victorian Department of Transport, representatives of Bus Association of Victoria (BusVic) and senior staff of Monash University as well as many industry, government and academic representatives. The best performance awards are sponsored by industry and government and recognise outstanding performance of bus operators completing subjects in the accreditation course.

The award presentations were followed by an address by Professor Frieder Seible, Vice President (Academic) and Dean of the Faculties of Engineering and Information Technology, Monash University, 'Protecting our

Transportation Infrastructure Against Natural and Man-made Hazards'.'

The University thanks the industry sponsors for their support of the awards and the course.

Monash University is proud of the achievements of all of our postgraduate research students who are currently enrolled and who have successfully completed the program, thereby contributing to the professional standards of the transport profession.

## **ARRB-Monash Prize Winner 2013**

The ARRB-Monash \$3000 prize for 2013 was awarded to Mr Charitha Dias. Charitha is currently enrolled in the PhD program at Institute of Transport Studies, Department of Civil Engineering, Monash University. Charitha's area of research is on pedestrian crowd modelling.



(from right) Sponsor: ARRB Group, Managing Director Gerard Waldron and

Prize Winner: Charitha Dias

