

February 14, 2020

Dear Brookwood Families and Friends,

We wanted to take this opportunity to say a big THANK YOU for your engagement in the Head of School search process this week, whether it was by completing the community survey and/or meeting with our Carney Sandoe & Associates consultants. Peter and Burke were impressed by the energy and buzz on campus meeting with over 150 members of our community; including students, teachers, administrators, trustees, alumni and parents of alumni. Your input in this process is essential and we are very grateful to have heard so many voices to inform what we are seeking in the next Head of School.

Using the information gathered, the consultants—along with the search committee and Board of Trustees—will develop a comprehensive position profile for Brookwood's next Head of School. Once completed, you will be able to access the position description at <u>https://brookwood.edu/head-of-school-search/</u> on our Head of School search page. Peter and Burke will begin to build the pool of candidates by listing the position with appropriate agencies and associations, contacting selected educational leaders to solicit recommendations for the position, and reaching out to potential candidates with whom they and their colleagues are familiar. Carney Sandoe's strength in this area is a result of the volume of searches they conduct annually and their ability to tap into a strong database and network.

Over the next few weeks, resumes will be screened and the search committee will meet with top prospective candidates to educate them further about our school, its strengths and areas of opportunity, and the specific traits, characteristics, experience, and credentials we are seeking in our next Head of School. We look forward to updating you along the way.

If you have any questions, or would like to share any additional feedback, please contact us at search@brookwood.edu.

Sincerely,

Gavin McGrath '97 P '26, P '28 Jenny Perkin P '18, P '20, P '23 Search Committee Co-Chairs

The Search Committee: Molly Cook, John Corcoran, Sara Day, Ray Falconer, Katy Langhorst, Monica Palmer, Moira Smith, Chris Welles